The Fault in Our Stars

                                                                                              Image

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”
― 
John GreenThe Fault in Our Stars

I have an insatiable appetite for good literature.  I am not however a glamorous book chooser.  I frequently pick my reads from the piles of used books on sale for $1.50 at my library or select the cheapest Kindle read from the best sellers list that doesn’t fall under ‘romance’ or ‘adult material’.  In fact, the later is how I selected ‘the fault in our stars’.  It was $3.99 on Kindle the week before I was to head on a four day trip.  Bingo.

What I didn’t expect is to find myself wanting to sneak in the bathroom at work just to read ‘a few more pages’.  Sadly, every time I tried to explain the book to someone I realized how depressing I was making it sound.  Two teenagers who meet in a cancer support group and how their relationship unfolds.  Try making that sound anything less than a downer.  But the truth is, the book was wonderfully written and so therefore was a sweet, engaging love story not in fact a depressing reminder of the unfairness of life.

I love the combination of love and literature in this book.  John Green manages to write a book that is equal parts heart-warming, adventurous, and honest.  I was lost within the pages and I hope you will be too.

B

2 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars

Leave a Reply

