Committing it to Writing

This year for Christmas my family decided to draw names.  I actually still haven’t received my one gift for the year (I’ll be picking it up in Indiana next weekend).  It was actually kind of nice not to have Christmas be about a mound of presents and my condo was probably grateful to not have to fit anymore ‘stuff’.  I did exchange gifts or ornaments with a few friends though and even though we had just started dating, my now boyfriend.  Casey bought me board games which we’ve literally been playing multiple times a week since.  He also bought me a journal.

I love to write which of course isn’t a secret if you read this blog, right?  I haven’t kept a journal though in …well, a long time.  It was an incredibly thoughtful and beautiful gift but the best part about the gift may be the way it keeps on giving.  I loved the gesture and so I immediately started keeping the journal.  Every couple days he asks me if he’s allowed to read it and if I write about him but the answers are no and sometimes.

The truth is I don’t recap my days in there in a ‘dear diary’ sense but I am tracking the significant things that happen in my life.  I’m writing more in depth (or candidly) about many of the things I write here: reconciliation in my friendships, sweet words and encouragements people give me, how the Lord answers my prayers, and significant dates.  It’s been such a sweet way to celebrate my life these past 6 weeks since the new year began.

I wanted to share because my gut feeling is many of you don’t journal either.  I’ve read over and over how healthy it is emotionally, spiritually, etc. but I’ve just never taken the time.  Until now.  If you haven’t done it, try it.  I try to write 2-3 times a week (not everyday – that’s too much even for me).  I write a page at a time.  That’s it.  I’ve never even written 2 in one sitting.  Take the time to commit to writing the significant moments in your year, for yourself.  Blogging for all of you is a love of mine but having something just for me?  Even better.

As always, if you take my advice and like it (or even if you don’t) I’d love to hear about it.  I’ve been so enjoying the e-mails I’ve been getting from readers the past few weeks – take 2 minutes and drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

