Living Intentionally in March

Intentional is my theme word for 2014 so each month I try to check in and see how I’m doing.  For the month of March my area of intention to make the most improvement is, is my health.  My church and therefore my job are doing a series on healthy living as it effects your faith, family, fitness, food, friendships, etc.  So since our office is teamed up to live healthy in community with others it seems an obvious boost to my goals.  Well, that and my boyfriend is my team captain so I kind of have to earn MVP status, right?

So with my man, my coworkers, and friends I’m spending 40 days eating even healthier and killing it in the gym.  But more than that, we’re all trying to make some healthy lifestyle changes.  I’m working out at 5:00 in the mornings before work – which I am actually loving now that I’m in a groove.  I even have a handsome workout partner a few days out of the week.  I’ve cut the sweets, the diet soda (well, cutback), and the complex carbs (not to be confused with all carbs).  I’m eating fresher, greener, and better portions.  I’m using myfitnesspal to track my caloric intake and keep it to 1200 a day which I also monitor how many I’m burning during me 2 a day workouts!

I feel great.  My stomach is doing better than it has in a long time (I have severe IBS).  I have more energy.  I sleep great at night.  I don’t get sluggish during the day.  I haven’t had any headaches.  My knees, which I have problems with, are feeling great.  And I’ve lost 3 1/2 pounds in our first week.  So I’m feeling great.

Of course in the midst of this I’m having to try’n keep up with the rest of my living intentional goals.  Balance is not my strength.  I tend to be full force at one or two things but the rest get neglected so in the midst of working out so much harder and more often I am trying not to let it make the rest of my life suffer.  That’s going to be the challenge so that I can keep these new, healthier habits.

My biggest suggestion as a takeaway?  Prep your meals on Sundays for the week.  Packing a lunch and having something healthy waiting for dinner every night has really helped me stay on track.  How do you all balance adding new healthy habits with keeping up the rest you’ve already built?

 

Leave a Reply

