Pinterest Made Me Do It – #5 (2 for the price of 1)

10574246_10103906377520068_944703431013873276_n

Ok y’all are all sorts of lucky this week because I actually tried my hand at two new recipes this week from Pinterest.  In honor of three women with birthdays at our office this week I baked scones for the first time ever.  Scones are a scary project for any baker because they’re near impossible to do well. So basically, I didn’t tell anyone that I had decided to make these in case I had to throw them all away and pretend it never happened.  BUT – this recipe actually really worked out for me…

Because I’m sharing/talking about two recipes today I’m not going to type out or copy the full recipes so for Cranberry Scones with Lemon Curd you can find the recipe here.

Let me give you a few notes:

– Mine were not pretty.  They verdict was that they tasted great (our food services department even approved them at work) but they were not beautiful.  I don’t know how people manage to sculpt these suckers into perfect shapes because Lord knows mine kind of looked like triangular blobs.

– I put white chocolate chips in mine. I like everything a little sweeter than some people so it was just a little something extra and I think it was a win.

– Making scones is messy business.  So be prepared to have chaos in your kitchen when you do it (or maybe this is just me?).

I’m actually even more excited to share this second Pinterest win of the week. I have been eating healthier and trying to learn to cook healthier (I realize this sounds like it’s in contrast to my scone share – but those were for others).  So this week I tried making stuffed peppers for the first time. I like to cook on Sunday’s for the week so that packing my lunch is easy (and doesn’t come out of a lean cuisine box).  I chose a recipe that didn’t require you to cook the insides and then put them in the peppers – you put the meat in raw.  This was easier, and made for less dirty dishes.  They were delicious and my 2 friends who tried them asked for the recipe – I always consider this a good sign!

So without further ado here is that recipe.

One thing to note – I did not use bread crumbs.  I didn’t miss them.  I thought a gluten free friend was coming for dinner that night but truth be told I won’t use them next time either. I did use rice but I used cooked brown rice not white minute rice.  I had it on hand and in my head it seems healthier.

I highly recommend this recipe and feel free to e-mail me any questions – but it is EXTREMELY easy to make (though touching raw hamburger grosses me out slightly).

 

Leave a Reply

