Why Not Me

I forgot how to dream.

That’s what I wrote down the first night I started a dream journal after reading ‘The Dream Manager’.  I sat down and I made myself stay in that spot and be still until I could write down five things I dream of doing,having, or being.  I got teary as I realized how long that took and how hard it was for me.  When had I first forgotten how to dream?

Time after time I put my social work degree to use and I sit across a table from someone and ask them what they want out of life and I help them make a plan to achieve it.  Many times over the past six years of my real adult life I have sat down to help someone make a budget and I say, what do you want?  When they answer that question I crunch the numbers over and over until I find a way to help them get it.  I love to see people win.  I love to see people dream.  And I want to be there with tears streaming down my smiling face whooping and hollering when they get there.

So, why not me?

I read a Jillian Michael’s quote the other day that said: ‘Today I want you to ask yourself this one question.  Why not you?  Why not you to do something for work that you love?  Why not you to have a healthy body?  Why not you to have healthy love?  Why not you to be, have, or do anything you have ever dreamed?  We are so quick to think others are deserving over ourselves.  The truth is that we are all deserving so why not you?’.

After a long while I wrote down five dreams.  I sat and I starred at them and I asked myself that same questions over and over – why not me?  The truth is there is no why.  Nothing on my list was out of reach.  Nothing couldn’t be achieved.  They aren’t small or easy.  They won’t come without sacrifice and hard work.  But I’ve never been afraid to work hard.  I’ve never been afraid to sacrifice to get where I want to go.  So there is no why.  It can be me.  Just as simply as if can be you.

I read my list through one more time and I chose two dreams to start working on that day.  One of them is my dream to travel Europe.  When I was in art school years ago I began dreaming of what it would be life to travel there and see the amazing art I’ve read about and studied.  Somehow it just never felt like the practical thing.  Now I realize, practical isn’t the only thing.  So three weeks ago when I finished that list and I chose Europe to be a dream that will someday some true, I started saving.  Little by little.  It won’t be tomorrow but you know what – it will be someday.  I’m going to go to Europe.  What are you going to do?

Do you need to learn how to dream again?  Do you need to join me in asking yourself over and over why not you?

Leave a Reply

