Crucial Conversation: Asking for Raise

I’ve been meaning for a few weeks to share some solid info I read in the September issue of Glamour magazine about women and asking for a raise.  This can be an incredibly awkward conversation, I know, I’ve been there – but it can also be the crucial conversation that keeps you at a place of employment.  I love that Glamour has taken to giving advice on issues for us women in the workplace.  Here’s what Glamour had to say:

Now Go Get That Raise!

1. First, burnish your reputation.  ‘Update your social media and LinkedIn profiles to showcase projects and photos of yourself at seminars and panel discussions.  You want your boss to notice you long before you go in there’ – Nicole Williams, LinkedIn Career Spokeperson

2.  Then psych yourself up.  ‘The biggest mistake I see women making is simply not asking.  They think, I’ll just take on the extra work and someone will reward me for it.  But very few companies will come to you and ofer more money.  So set up that meeting!’ – Hollie Delaney, Zappos HR Director

3. Time the conversation right, and marshal your facts.  ‘ Schedule the meeting at the end of a project, or after 30 days of peak performance.  Your boss will likely agree you deserve a raise if you’re making the company money, so back your case with data, like sales figures.  You brought in five clients?  Highlight that’ – Nicole Williams

4. Follow this script.  ‘Say: I’d like to talk about the ways my job has changed.  I was hired in (month, year), and my responsibilities were (list of tasks).  Over the past (period) I’ve gotten great feedback, and you’ve added (new responsibilities).  I’ve looked at what similar positions pay and found salaries in this ballpark.  I’d like to discuss getting my pay closer to that’ – Hollie Delaney

5. Use the right words and tone of voice.  ‘End your sentences on low vocal notes, not high ones.  Avoid phrases like I feel, I need, kinda, sorta, and maybe which don’t lead to factual statements or signal confidence.  Smile, square your shoulders, and look your boss in the eye’ – Caroline Ghosn, founder and CEO of Levo League

6.  Know that the conversation is in your best interests, no matter how it turns out. ‘HR and recruiters expect you to negotiate.  If you don’t, it may even be viewed as a sign that you aren’t management material.  So ask’ – Kim Keating, founder of Keating Advisors, an HR Consulting Firm

7. Get rejected?  Say this: ‘Ok.  When should I follow up to discuss this again?’ If the answer’s yes, accept with a thank-you!’ – Hollie Delaney

Isn’t that a great article?  I love that advice.  Let my share before I close this that one of the biggest mistakes I’ve made as an employee over the last 7 years is thinking that to make more money I have to move companies.  If you’re doing your job well, it’s likely your company would prefer to keep you, even if it costs them more – instead of bringing in someone new!  So, give your current employer a little more credit and have crucial conversations.  Give them a chance. Worst case scenario you get a no and you find out what you need to work on to head in the right direction or perhaps you learn that it’s time to look outside your own company but even know one of those two things is a win!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

