Out of a Fiction Rut

Good morning –

After being in a particularly bad fiction rut and losing steam with my reading for the year in general I was excited when a copy of A.D. 30 was offered to me.  Having never read Ted Dekker myself but hearing my friend, Joy, whom I use to do book club with and still share reading thoughts with regularly via text message rave about him I thought, maybe this will get me going again…

I couldn’t have been more right.

This book was unlike any I had read before!  I normally avoid Christian fiction because it lacks the writing skill that non-Christian fiction has and frequently feels ‘cheesy’.  Not this one.  A.D. 30 was beautifully written and full of love, emotion, intensity, and depth.  By the second chapter I was hooked and despite being a rather long book, moved through is quickly, my eyes searching for what was coming next.

Maviah, the outcast daughter of one of the most powerful Bedouin sheikhs in Arabia, finds herself being responsible for saving the Father that has never loved her and her people., among whom she has never truly been accepted.  Follow along as she experiences loss, love, redemption, and salvation.  She escapes as her city falls under attack with two slaves who promise to take her to King Herod to beg him to rescue her city from siege but on her journey to win over Herod and save her Father and his people – she meets Yeshua.

Having never been into the historical fiction genre I wasn’t sure that I would get into this fiction-meets-scripture novel but Dekker does Christian historical fiction just right.  Accurate in his use of scripture and in his depiction of Christ’s character but enough fictitious story writing to keep you engaged and unaware of how the story will end.  So, if you’re as leery as I was about the combination of historical fiction and Christian fiction – give it a try.  I wasn’t disappointed and I doubt you will be either!  In fact, I believe Dekker might just have a made a fan out of me.

Thankful for an early release copy of this book to get me out of my fiction rut but now I will have to anxiously await the sequel.  Meanwhile, I hope that many of you will read this story of rejection, murder, love, healing, forgiveness, royalty, and redemption. Follow Maviah on an incredible journey across the dessert from one kingdom to the knowledge of a different kind of kingdom and King.

Not familiar with Ted Dekker?  Here’s a little more info from his bio:

Ted Dekker is a New York Times best-selling author of more than thirty novels with over 5 million copies sold worldwide.  He is known for thrillers that combine unforgettable characters, adrenaline-laced plots and incredible confrontations between good and evil. Dekker was named Best Inpirational Suspense Author in 2012 RT Book Reviews Reviewers Choice. HIs book, The Bride Collector, was named one of the NPR’s “Top 100 Killer Thrillers” of all time. Two of his novels, Thr3e and House have been made into movies with more in production.  Dekker and his wife, Lee Ann, live in Austin, Texas.

A.D. 30 is now available for purchase.  My copy was received for review by Shelton Interactive but all thoughts and opinions written here are as always, my own.

Leave a Reply

