Take the Time.

Creating my commandments has been a journey.  Tonight I want to share about commandment number three – take the time.

Life is crazy.  It’s busy, it’s messy, and it stops for no one.  One day you think you’ll never be old enough to drive a car and you blink and you’re saving for retirement, paying off a home, and talking about ‘the rest of your life’. Ferris Bueller was on to something when he said you could miss life if you don’t stop to look around from time to time.

This commandment is my Ferris Bueller rule: take the time.  Take the time to write handwritten cards.  Take the time for phone calls with faraway friends.  Take the time to walk outside by the water, because you can.  Hop on a plane because your niece wants you to trick or treat with her or your sister says ‘I need your help’.  Take the time to ask people how they are, and really listen.  Take the time to read good books.  Take the time to journal.  Take the time to scour your 500 book reading list to make a thoughtful recommendation to a friend who wants to start reading.  Take the time to pick out jewelry to lend to a friend going on a first date.  Take the time to buy thoughtful gifts.  Take the time to tell someone how much you love them.

Sometimes I get a little overwhelmed.  Being an adult is hard. There’s so much to remember and so many things to do.  Then I stop and realize how rich my life is.  How full of God’s grace, great people, and beautiful adventures it is.  I don’t want my life to happen to me.  I don’t want to be too busy.  I don’t want to miss out on what matters.  And so, the commandment is written:  take the time.

2 thoughts on “Take the Time.

  1. I couldn’t agree more! People should take a step back, live in the moment, and take advantage of time to do things they haven’t done in a while.

Leave a Reply

