Secret of Adulthood: Have Less Stuff

I love that Gretchen via her books, her social media, and the Happier 2017 calendar shares her secret of adulthood.  One of mine is: have less stuff.

I recently read on Lauren Conrads blog (laurenconrad.com) her 10 habits of highly organized people had this secret of adulthood at number eight:

8. They have less stuff.

The more stuff you have, the more likely it is to become disorganized. Organized people love to eliminate the clutter and regularly purge items they no longer need. This also includes learning to walk away from bargains. As far as the space in your closet is concerned, it’s better to purchase one investment piece you really love than five so-so tops you found on sale. Also, consider donating items you no longer need. It’s easier to part with your possessions if you know they are going to a good cause.

I suggest being a thoughtful purger.  I recently inherited a TV.  This will make a few of you laugh since I gave up cable about 5 years ago.  Anyways, when my parents sold our Indianapolis house they had an extra and graciously brought it to me.  This of course freed up a TV in my house.  This week after allowing it to sit in the guest room closet for entirely too long I thought – who might need this?  I thought of a friend who recently moved out on her own after living at home during continuing education.  She gratefully accepted and I dropped the TV off at her house on my way to work the next morning.

Junk is in fact sometimes just junk.  So don’t give people crap they also don’t want or need just to help yourself out.  But, if you have something valuable that could help someone else – by all means, reach out.

 

Leave a Reply

