Winter Reading Recs

If you read my most recent most about balance then you won’t be surprised to learn that I reach my reading goal in much the same way I balance everything else – ebbs and flows. Fall is always my busiest time of year, so I know now to come into September with 75 books left to read if I want to reach my goal. I spend the spring and summer getting ahead, planning to be less available during those busy football game watching months at the end of the year. Now, I will say – I never completely stop reading, I just slow down. Planning for that necessary slow time allows me to still succeed, without stress.

I finished my 33rd and 34th books of the year over the weekend (poolside, rough life) and I thought as we come to the close of March this would be a good time to make a few suggestions. Honestly, I post these from time to time because I get asked A LOT ‘have you read anything good lately?’ This is my way of saying; the answer to that question is always yes, so here are a few options.

Keeping with my theme of getting around to it – I’ve been working my way through books I own so that I can then pass them to other people and clear my shelves for new ones. I read primarily from the library but I find that over time I collect books that need to be read and relocated too. So early this year I finally read Tuesdays with Morrie. I loved it. Absolutely loved. So if you didn’t read this when it was all the rage, I suggest grabbing a copy now.

6900

From Goodreads: Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher or a colleague. Someone older, patient and wise, who understood you when you were young and searching, and gave you sound advice to help you make your way through it. For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago.

Maybe, like Mitch, you lost track of this mentor as you made your way, and the insights faded. Wouldn’t you like to see that person again, ask the bigger questions that still haunt you? 

Mitch Albom had that second chance. He rediscovered Morrie in the last months of the older man’s life. Knowing he was dying of ALS – or motor neurone disease – Mitch visited Morrie in his study every Tuesday, just as they used to back in college. Their rekindled relationship turned into one final ‘class’: lessons in how to live.

My favorite fiction read so far this year was: Maybe in Another Life. It was styled like ‘Sliding Doors’ if you’ve ever seen that movie. It flashes back and forth between the two lives that could have happened to her based on a big decision. I found the creative angle engaging and the characters enjoyable. I gave this 5 (out of 5) stars on Goodreads (if we’re not friends there and you love to read – add me).

23492661

From Goodreads: At the age of twenty-nine, Hannah Martin still has no idea what she wants to do with her life. She has lived in six different cities and held countless meaningless jobs since graduating college. On the heels of leaving yet another city, Hannah moves back to her hometown of Los Angeles and takes up residence in her best friend Gabby’s guestroom. Shortly after getting back to town, Hannah goes out to a bar one night with Gabby and meets up with her high school boyfriend, Ethan.

Just after midnight, Gabby asks Hannah if she’s ready to go. A moment later, Ethan offers to give her a ride later if she wants to stay. Hannah hesitates. What happens if she leaves with Gabby? What happens if she leaves with Ethan?

In concurrent storylines, Hannah lives out the effects of each decision. Quickly, these parallel universes develop into radically different stories with large-scale consequences for Hannah, as well as the people around her. As the two alternate realities run their course, Maybe in Another Life raises questions about fate and true love: Is anything meant to be? How much in our life is determined by chance? And perhaps, most compellingly: Is there such a thing as a soul mate?

Hannah believes there is. And, in both worlds, she believes she’s found him.

Best in the business and leadership category for me so far in 2017 has been: Procrastinate on Purpose. I really had some solid takeaways and notes about how to apply them. I even engaged with the author on twitter during the time I was reading it. I love authors who engage their readers.

H22521947

From Goodreads: From the New York Times bestselling author of Take the Stairs-a bold new way to get things done. New York Times bestselling author and sales-performance trainer Rory Vaden brings his high-energy approach and can-do spirit to the most nagging problem in our professional lives stalled productivity. Millions are overworked, organizationally challenged, or have a motivation issue thats holding them back. Vaden presents a simple yet powerful paradigm that will set readers free to do their best work-on time and without stress and anxiety.

Happy reading as we move into spring and even my northern readers should be able to emerge from their homes for some sunshine soon, I hope.  April brings with it 2 weekends of friends visiting/staying with me and 1 weekend out of town (Washington DC girls trip) so there should be more time than usual for reading in April.  Less work, more sun bathing.

 

Leave a Reply

